(approximate duration: 64 minutes)

Saga is a chamber tone-poem inspired by the Icelandic Eddic lays, the central repository of Old Norse mythology and a great work of literature bodying forth a prodigious vision of the Universe, of its origins and of its end.
Rich in allegory, the subject matter is gnomic as well as heroic and it includes the vicissitudes of the gods. The poems suggest the cyclical nature of history as well as bearing some influence from early Christian though.

Saga is scored for Piano (solo), Violin (solo), Flute, Oboe, 2 Clarinets, Bassoon, 2 Horns, 2 Trumpets, Trombone, Percussion (2 players), 2 Violas, Cello & Bass.

The first performance took place on March 25, 2003 in New York City (Composer Portraits Series-Miller Theatre) and it featured the Absolute Ensemble conducted by Kristjan Järvi. The soloists were Joseph Kalichstein, piano and Anne Akiko Meyers, violin.

Saga is structured in eighteen movements conceived as musical illuminations of characters or incidents pertaining to the ancient texts: death-ship; serpent; deceiver; seeress; wanderer; iron-woods; night-roamer; wind-age; hammer; transfiguration; runes; seafarer; dream; world-tree; dwarf; hordes; vision, and riddle.



for chamber ensemble (2002)

commissioned by the Absolute Ensemble and Meet the Composer

All excerpts performed by the Absolute Ensemble.

Kristjan Jarvi, conductor. Anne Akiko Meyers, violin. Joseph Kalichstein, piano.

© 2003 TLØN EDITIONS. All rights reserved.

ezequiel viñao

(audio samples)